3 Tagaytay Traditions

Tagaytay’s really such an easy drive from Manila, but not having a car, I don’t go there as much as I want to. To me, everything I love about this city has to do with food, from Gourmet restaurant, to Hawaiian BBQ and my childhood favorite, Mushroom Burger.

I managed to book a night at Sonya’s Garden before the boyfriend went back to Europe. I had originally arranged for a friend to bring us there, but the boyf wasn’t feeling well and we had to cancel. By the time he said he was ok to go, it was past noon and we had to make our own way to Tagaytay.

I’ve only done it once and that was through Alabang. When I did a Google search, I was directed to the bus terminals on Taft Avenue. A word of warning: JAM Liner does not go to Tagaytay, no matter what you read on the Internet. We went there ourselves and they directed us to the company across the street, DLTB. The Nasugbu-bound buses seem to be rare, but that’s the one you need.

16602840_10154972880137731_7512745632791292635_n
A view of Taal Volcano from Tagaytay City

It was late when we arrived to Sonya’s Secret Garden, which is my favorite massage place in the world, but even at twilight, the boyf was amazed by the beauty of the gardens. Of course we got a massage, and I had the (for me) requisite cheese hopia, fresh from the in-house bakery. Also had one of the best salad dressings ever at the dinner buffet that came with our overnight package.

After checkout the next day and before going back to Manila, we had a late bulalo lunch (bone marrow soup) at one of the restaurants with a view of the Taal Volcano below. Unfortunately, they didn’t have tawalis, the small fish from Taal Lake that’s famous in the area.

16508347_10154972880612731_8461955355812799248_n
Bulalo

Then we had coffee and cake at Bag of Beans, another one of my go-to places in the city. The original branch, which was closer to Sonya’s, was full so we went to the newly-expanded branch near the Tagaytay rotonda. We passed a new branch that seems to be a bed-and-breakfast that I’m eager to try next time.

16388414_10154972880632731_3304625848084674684_n
Blueberry cheesecake at Bag of Beans

The stay at Sonya’s alone was awesome but I’m still glad I got to share some of my Tagaytay traditions with the boyf. There’s still more left for when we come back.

Sonya’s Garden. Barangay Buck Estate, Alfonso, Cavite, 4123

Bag of Beans. General Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Mendez Crossing West, Tagaytay City, Tagaytay – Nasugbu Hwy, Tagaytay, Cavite

Leave a Reply

