Not yet official but…

So it’s not set in stone yet but there’s a possibility that I will be travelling to Japan 3rd quarter of 2017. I’m soooo stoked!

I love Japan. If there’s one cuisine I can eat forever it’s Japanese, which is why I’m lucky I live right next to Little Tokyo. I grew up watching anime and still read Ruruoni Kenshin fan fiction to this day (did I just admit that?). Actually, it’s fan fiction that I credit for what little Nihongo vocabulary I have.

When I was in Barcelona in 2013, I befriended this Japanese solo traveler and ended up taking her with me to the most magical daytrip ever in Montserrat in Catalonia. Her English was limited and my Japanese was limited and for most of the day, our conversation subsisted of my favorite Japanese food and anime. I can imagine the astonishment of some people when I proudly blurted out in the middle of a tram queue, “Sukiyaki!” when I finally recalled the name of the dish that had been on the tip of my tongue for hours. My Japanese friend Emi then clapped, happy that I was indeed a big fan of the food.

I’m so psyched! I’m gonna EAT ALL THE FOOD!

I’m doing initial research now (what can I say, I like to be prepared) and saw a picture of dango, which I have never had. I’m gonna eat that. So let me leave this post with the dango song from the anime Clannad (which you should totally watch, the series is good).

Leave a Reply

